The NYPD’s Secret Surveillance Fund with Joey Diaz – Script

Joe Rogan

The whole thing about, like, tracking you on your phone, that it’s normal now. We just normalize getting tracked everywhere. Allow location. Ok. You know, tell me where I am.

Joey Diaz

But you know what the good thing? I’m not doing nothing bad. Yeah, that’s like, I’m not stabbing somebody or I got an alibi.

Joe Rogan

This is like the slippery slope. That’s what people were worried about when all that Edward Snowden sh*t came out that the government can just track you. But now everybody just gives it up to apps. If you listen to everything you say. Well, how many of your f*cking. Has it been proven that your phone is actually listening to you?

Joey Diaz

Yes.

Joe Rogan

Right. Can we say that or are we crazy?

Jamie

It’s tough. I would absolutely say probably is.

Joe Rogan

I definitely think they could turn your microphone on and they can make your phone listen to you. I think that’s a fact.

Joey Diaz

I heard a f*cked up story and I’ll drop it on you here. I have not a friend. I have an acquaintance that’s going to go to jail because of what they said on an Alexa.

Joe Rogan

Oh, no.

Joey Diaz

So do not believe nothing. I wouldn’t put a f*cking Alexa in my house if you paid me. When I walk into people’s houses and I see an Alexa, I make a mental note to shut the f*ck up. Only speak when you know those people. Alexa play Led Zeppelin. Alexa, I f*cking hate you. I don’t say nothing to Alexa. I will never talk to f*cking Alexa. But they’re going to go to jail because something happened in the house, like a fight. And they actually called the cops through Alexa.

Joe Rogan

Oh, my God.

Joey Diaz

You just want to avoid all this sh*t. If you have an Alex in your house.

Joe Rogan

Oh, my God.

Joey Diaz

Take it out right now. You could play the music by yourself, you dumb f*cks.

Joe Rogan

Oh, my God.

Joey Diaz

Now you got people listening. Listen. You got to assume that no matter what you do, they’re listening to you. I don’t give a f*ck about laws or anything. We can’t listen after 30 seconds if you’re not talking about a criminal enterprise. Listen, if you got a cell phone, they could tap into you and they know where you are. It’s funny. When I go to jujitsu, you have to log in there. They have like, a computer, like, you have to make a reservation. That’s what I like about Hollis. You can make like, go to Zen app and just f*cking go. I want to go to Wednesday class and no lock of space in you. I think they started because of culprit, but now they don’t give a f*ck. But when you go there, you have to tap in. And I’m so excited to tap in. I always go. 20 years ago, I wouldn’t tap into that motherf*cker because I wouldn’t want nobody to know where I was. Now, I’m an old man. I don’t give a f*ck if you know where I am. Yes, I came here.

Joe Rogan

Yeah. My worry about all that stuff is like, who has access to your data? Who can track you?

Jamie

Did you see this come out? A couple of weeks ago.

Joe Rogan

NYPD had a secret fund for surveillance tools. Documents reveal the police bought facial recognition software vans equipped with Xray machines and Stingray cell site simulators with no public oversight.

Jamie

There’s a story within the last couple of weeks, I’m trying to remember exactly what happened, but they tracked whoever it was and caught them using license plate camera thing and followed them around the city and found their location. It was when Michael K. Williams died. That’s how they tracked where he bought. They have on video him buying the Fentanyl.

 Joey Diaz

Yes.

Joe Rogan

Jesus Christ. So is that good? Because you can catch crime. It didn’t stop the crime from happening, but they’ve caught who did it.

Jamie

They didn’t stop, it didn’t stop…

Joe Rogan

Right, it didn’t stop the crime from happening, but they’ve caught who did it

Jamie

And I don’t think that helps anything, really.

Joe Rogan

It doesn’t, right. It gives a lot of power to people that are working as police officers. If you could just, like, Zoom in on people like that, listen to their cell phone conversations. They’re just people. That’s part of the problem, right.

But on the other hand, you want them to be able to catch people when someone’s done something f*cked up. So where do you draw the line?

Joey Diaz

We have a Constitution that they wrote.

Joe Rogan

Yeah.

Joey Diaz

And it’s still f*cking illegal. It’s like an entrapment.

Joe Rogan

Like if they catch someone planting a car bomb somewhere, this is good, for instance. And you can show on a video somehow or another the people that planted the car bomb and that car bomb blows up and a bunch of people die. Shouldn’t you be able to find out who planted that f*cking car bomb? That’s the slippery part. That’s the slippery part.

Joey Diaz

And don’t tell me they’re not doing that already. They go right to a satellite and see what images they shot on that block in that area. They’re already doing that. You have to assume.

Joe Rogan

You have to assume they’re doing that.

Joey Diaz

They’re already doing that.

Joe Rogan

Yeah. And what are the satellite capabilities like now? It must be incredible. Oh, must be amazing, right?

Jamie

That’s how Google Earth started.

Joe Rogan

Yeah.

Joey Diaz

How crazy is this that burglars aren’t even chasing joints out anymore. They just go on Google Earth, they see what cars you park outside.

Joe Rogan

Really?

Joey Diaz

They case your joint now from f*cking…

Joe Rogan

Does Google Earth update regularly? Does it really?

Jamie

I mean, it’s not like today, like, every day. And there’s probably ways.

Joe Rogan

Like how many times a month.

Jamie

At least maybe once a month in certain areas.

Joey Diaz

And they have something that is kind of live because they have caught burglars doing it, car thieves doing it.

Joe Rogan

I feel like we’re in an episode of Black Mirror, but we just don’t know it yet, you know, it feels like an episode of Black Mirror.

Joey Diaz

Because these guys were getting an order for a black Mercedes. They go on the computer, they find one, they go to look. I mean, it was all tracked on a f*cking computer. They never even went by the house before. This was all done right there.

Joe Rogan

I watched an episode of black mirror the other day. I haven’t seen that show in a while. Do you ever watch that on Netflix?

Joey Diaz

No.

Joe Rogan

It’s all about like dystopian future sh*t. And the one was about the social credit system. Did you see that one? Oh my God. That was nuts. It was all about what could go wrong with us if we get too wrapped up and grading each other on numbers. That one. Remember, that was a nutty one. It was a real weird one. But I kind of feel like that’s a real possibility for people. That could be a thing we really do one day. Have a score. Everyone get a number. People be obsessed by their score, their social score. Like seeing that in that show, I was like, Yikes, you could kind of convince people to go along with that. Yeah, that one the thing that freaked me out about it was it was a fun show, fun episode. But you could kind of get people to go along with something like that. I don’t think it would be that hard. I think people would give in to some sort of a score system like that. That’s a dangerous thing, Joey diaz. That’s a dangerous thing. That’s a dangerous thing because then you’re putting so much thought into a number.

People get obsessed with numbers. They get really weird when it comes to numbers. If you give people a number like you’re five stars, Joey, you’re like, oh, I’m five stars? Yeah, but Mike’s seven stars. We get obsessed. I want to be seven stars. What do I have to do? What do I have to do to get the same rating that Mike got? And we would want that you meet somebody after like a year or two. We would get used to it. You’d meet somebody like I can’t hang out with this guy. He’s a four. It’s just like he brings my credit down when I’m around you.

Joey Diaz

What you doing bringing a three to my house.

Joe Rogan

Exactly.

Joey Diaz

The f*ck is wrong with you?

Joe Rogan

That’s what this episode’s…

Joey Diaz

No seven allowed, alright. F*cking bringing a two to my house.

Joe Rogan

I’m telling you. That could be worrisome.

Taken from: JRE #1778 w/Joey Diaz

Leave a comment